Following Christ · Relationships · Uncategorized

I Googled for an answer…

Like I always do, I Googled for an answer this morning. The answer as to why it’s so hard to let go. Down to the very smallest thing I own… I have issues of letting go, throwing away, turning to something new.

Facebook reminded me of “the old” this morning with a photo taken 10 years ago. And with that photo, came memories of what “was.” Then, for a second, I realized, “Man, have I not let go?” What is it in me that continues to poke and prod at me that won’t let me be?

So I Googled: scriptures on why we can’t let go. It sounds foolish saying it out loud, but one scripture came across during my search,

Isaiah 43:18-19 Amplified Bible (AMP) 18  “Do not remember the former things, Or ponder the things of the past. 19  “Listen carefully, I am about to do a new thing, Now it will spring forth; Will you not be aware of it? I will even put a road in the wilderness, Rivers in the desert.

Wow. Talk about answers! Just as I spoke briefly the other day about looking backwards, God wants us to move forward. Even if it’s just Thinking on old things, that could be damaging to our journey of moving forward. That one instance of a trip down sorrow lane dampened my mood. I hear you, God. You are doing something new and providing the comfort along the way.

But, the middle of verse 19 was a bit confusing, so I tried another translation… Instead of, “Will you not be aware of it?” the NIV version makes it plain: “…do you not perceive it?”

Now I hear Him! God is asking us don’t we see the goodness He is spreading out all around us. See, speaking for myself, my issue is that I fail to see around me because I’m looking behind me.

I identified with verse 18 from more of a heartbroken stance. “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.” God is saying we must not think on what went wrong, who was more right than the other, what could have been. It’s time out for all of that.

#PressingForward

Leave a Reply

