Following Christ · Self-Love

Seeing Yourself Through God’s Eyes

How To See Through His Eyes

See yourself through God’s eyes by 1. staying in his word 2. staying in worship and in praise to develop that relationship. Just as you date a person they profess their love and how they adore you. God does the same.

The World Blurs Your Vision

Mingling with the world will only lead to a blurred vision. you begin to compare or lose sight, and that’s not the scale to use. The scale the world weighs you on is off in value, and the standards are not of the Lord’s. So weighing yourself through society only miscalculates your worth.

Live in the word, but live for God to see and feel your worth. As long as we are concerned with what the world thinks of us,we can never be fully available to God. We must break free from seeing ourselves based off of society’s opinions. We are made in God’s image.

Genesis 1:27

So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them…

If we are not loving ourselves based off of what the bible says, whose standards are we going by? If we are not loving every part of ourselves as God loves us, isn’t that saying we don’t love God? After all, aren’t we made in his image? And shouldn’t we love his works?

Psalm 139:14

Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous — and how well I know it.

Look to The Potter’s Hands

If there is something we are struggling with. or if we are having a hard time seeing ourselves as god sees us, we must look to him. He will fix it so that your vision is restored.

Isaiah 64:8

Yet you, Lord, are our Father.  We are the clay, you are the potter;

   we are all the work of your hand.

He has so much more for us. We can’t cash in till we rid ourselves of old and accept the new he’s giving us.

Ephesians 2:10

For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

Know How Much He Loves You

Psalm 139

15 You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. 16 You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. 17 How precious are your thoughts about me, O God! They are innumerable! 18 I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up in the morning, you are still with me!

Poem:

More for me

All you ever wanted was more for me and I was just to blind to see

All the world in front of me, it took some time but now I realize, I must see through your eyes

Perfect in every way, in your arms is where I’ll stay.

What I thought was punishment you had greater meant

What I thought you took away was the best way

Pushing me to greater still, you are more than everything

And have so much more for me.

-Patricia Marie 2014-

2 thoughts on “Seeing Yourself Through God’s Eyes

  1. Awesome post Tricia. When we finally see ourselves the way God sees us, we can truly experience his incredible, unconditional love. It’s amazing. Thanks for sharing such a powerful word.

    1. Aww. Thank you Erin. I’m definitely on a journey to learning how he sees me. I just bought Heather Lindsey’s new book “Dusty Crowns”. I’m sure she will shed some light on this topic. I love her!

Leave a Reply

