Following Christ

Job: Blameless & Upright

                         As we have been discussing Job the past few weeks at church I begin to think back to previous things I’ve learned about

coming out of the fire“.

In agriculture the term slash & burn is referred to as, “…the process of cutting down the vegetation in a particular plot of land, setting fire to the remaining foliage, and using the ashes to provide nutrients to the soil for use of planting food crops.”  I learned this years ago. If the soil isn’t good anymore all that needs to be done is the act of setting fire to the ground. Once this occurs the ground is then “new“.

 If our ground is not producing anymore, this means it needs to be renewed. We have to be willing to let the fire of God fall in order to begin producing his will.

                   In addition, glass blowing also requires fire to bring out the best product. “A glass furnace is a specialized furnace used in glass production. Glass makers have the ability to take mere sand and form it into something beautiful. I like to think that the Lord placed me into a hot furnace to create me as I am today. At times when I get weak, my glass chips and he picks me right back up, turns up the heat, adds pressure, and molds me back to new!

           In life we must burn the old to refresh ourselves; to purify our spirits for further spiritual growth. We all must go through our JOB moments to appreciate what is to come. One thing that I’ve begun to learn is to praise God in the storm. Praise him no matter how hot the fire may be. Through test and trials I have learned that there is a blessing in every storm. 

Leave a Reply

